

# VETERANS TIME TRIALS ASSOCIATION (KENT GROUP)

#### Present a 10 Mile Time Trial on Course Q10/30 (A299 Thanet Way) (Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules and Regulations)

Sunday 18 June 2023 at 06:30

## START SHEET

Timekeepers: (Start) Christine Burrows – Thanet RC (Finish) Andrew McCall – Thanet RC

### Awards - Veteran Riders

1 <sup>st</sup> on age standard	£40
2 <sup>nd</sup> on age standard	£30
3 <sup>rd</sup> on age standard	£20
1 <sup>st</sup> Road bike on age standard	£20
Fastest Male Vet on actual time	£15
Fastest Female Vet on actual time	£15
up Team of two on Age Standard	£10 oo

1<sup>st</sup> Club Team of two on Age Standard £10 each + McMillan Shield (for one year)

### Awards - Non-Veteran Riders

Fastest Male	£15
Fastest Female	£15

This event and the Group '10' on July 29 count for the Geoff Jones Trophy awarded for the greatest 'plus' across these two promotions.

Please note that only VTTA members are eligible for the veterans' awards listed above (including those on actual time). If you are over 40 and not yet a VTTA member, you can become eligible for these vets' awards by joining the VTTA online before the date of the event at: vtta.org.uk and bringing proof of membership with you on the day.

### **COMPETITORS NOTES**

### Covid-19 is still present and the CTT have some guidance in place as follows.

Competitors should not attend if they feel ill in ANY way especially if they, or family members have any CV19 symptoms.

An elevated resting heart rate, or exceptionally quick to react heart rate during warm up can suggest an underlying asymptomatic illness of ANY kind, and that they should DNS and leave immediately and not go to the start line if they feel this is the case. Any competitor where the above is relevant should obtain a lateral flow test. Competitors are encouraged to undertake a lateral flow test prior to attending the event.

Any Positive Tests - The competitor should not attend the event.

- 1. In the interest of safety, CTT Regulations state that ALL riders **MUST** wear recognised protective headgear that meets an internationally accepted safety standard.
- 2. **WORKING** front and rear lights, either flashing or constant, **MUST** be fitted to the machine at the start of the event.
- 3. WITHOUT lights or helmet you will NOT BE PERMITTED to start
- 4. Parking is not permitted within 25 metres of the start or at the finish.
- 5. Riders must not warm up on the course after the start.
- 6. It would be appreciated if riders do not wear shoe plates in the HQ.
- 7. Numbers will be available at the HQ and issued at signing on.
- 8. Numbers should be centrally positioned below the waist so as to be clearly visible from the rear.
- 9. Riders who use an inhaler for medical reasons (asthma etc.) should register the fact with British Cycling to satisfy UCI, CTT and BC anti-doping regulations.
- 10. Whilst competing riders must ensure they adhere to the Highway Regulations and CTT Rules and Regulations, disciplinary action may result from any breaches in these regulations.

**EVENT HQ/SIGN ON**– St. Bartholowmews Church Hall, King Edward Ave, Herne Bay, CT6 6EB, on street parking ONLY. Open from 5:30.

**HQ TO THE START** – The Head quarters are 1.5 miles to the start. Turn left out of King Edward Ave onto Mickleburgh Hill, follow the road until it takes you across Blacksole bridge onto Margate Rd, this will lead you to the roundabout to gain access to the Thanet Way. Continue on Thanet way for about 0.5 miles then take the slip road for Reculver and turn left onto Sweechbrige Road where you will find the start.

### AT THE END OF THE RACE

Remember you must return to the event HQ as soon as possible, even if DNF, to sign out, return your number and check to see if you are required for DOPING CONTROL. Failure to sign out WILL result in DNF.

### Refreshments will be available.

### RESULTS

Do not approach the finish timekeeper after finishing.

Results will be available on the day (fingers crossed, this is my first event)!!! please hang around for the prize presentation 😊

**Q10/30 COURSE DETAILS** - Start at eastern end of 1<sup>st</sup> drain in May Street, just before entrance to Southern Water Services Depot (TR208673). Proceed via service road to join A299, continue on A299 to St Nicholas at Wade RAB, take 3<sup>rd</sup> exit to Monkton RAB (5.472 miles). Turn and retrace A299 to finish west of the Roman Galley PH on slip road to Chislet, 4 yards before last LP FUV010 before turning left on slip road (TR225676).

**EVENT SECRETARY**: Paul Burrows, 26, Orchard Gardens, Westbrook, Kent, CT9 5JT. 07973666443. paulburrows604@gmail.com

No	Start Time	First name	Last name	Club	Vet Std	Machine
1	06:31:00	Jennifer	Fearn	Thanet RC	00:32:36	TT Bike
2	06:32:00	Vernon	Thomas	Greenwich Tritons Tri Club	00:31:05	TT Bike
3	06:33:00	Robert	Giles	VTTA (Kent)	00:30:35	TT Bike
4	06:34:00	Malcolm	Strickland	CC Bexley	00:28:58	Road Bike
5	06:35:00	Paul	Burrows	Thanet RC	00:26:32	Road Bike
6	06:36:00	Andy	MacPherson	VC Deal	00:27:24	TT Bike
7	06:37:00	Michael	Stanley	Medway Velo Club	00:26:56	TT Bike
8	06:38:00	Eryka	Smith	VC Deal	00:29:12	Road Bike
9	06:39:00	Graham	Strugnell	Kassei Tekno Fuel	00:30:20	TT Bike
10	06:40:00	Mathew	Lister	Thanet RC	00:26:14	TT Bike
11	06:41:00	Pete	Elms	VC Deal	00:27:18	TT Bike
12	06:42:00	Colin	Inett	Thanet RC	00:32:17	TT Bike
13	06:43:00	Michael	Coulter	Gravesend CC	00:30:20	TT Bike
14	06:44:00	Mike	Nott	VTTA (Kent)	00:27:37	Road Bike
15	06:45:00	Anthony	Westwood	Gravesend CC	00:27:30	TT Bike
16	06:46:00	Reuban	Davey	Abellio - SFA Racing Team	-	TT Bike
17	06:47:00	Shay	Giles	Thanet RC	00:31:05	TT Bike
18	06:48:00	Dave	Richards	San Fairy Ann CC	00:26:19	TT Bike
19	06:49:00	Andy	Burrows	Thanet RC	00:31:39	TT Bike
20	06:50:00	Lance	Childs	TAAP Endura	-	TT Bike
21	06:51:00	Gary	Grayland	CC Bexley	00:27:37	TT Bike
22	06:52:00	David	Greenwood	Rye & District Wheelers CC	00:27:37	TT Bike
23	06:53:00	Michael	Philpot	Royal Navy & Royal	00.27.37	TT Bike
				Marines CA	00:27:58	
24	06:54:00	Peter	Huckstep	Thanet RC	00:29:42	TT Bike
25	06:55:00	Peter	Robertson	Lea Valley CC	-	TT Bike
26	06:56:00	Simon	Henderson	Thanet RC	00:27:51	TT Bike
27	06:57:00	Mark	Vowells (Tricycle)	San Fairy Ann CC	00:29:19	Tricycle
28	06:58:00	Christopher	Bax	Thanet RC	00:29:30	TT Bike
29	06:59:00	David	Smith	VC de Londres	00:26:06	TT Bike
30	07:00:00	Nicholas	Fennell	Thanet RC	-	TT Bike
31	07:01:00	Martin	Jones	Colour Tech RT	00:27:01	TT Bike
32	07:02:00	James	Harrison	Hythe Cycling Club	00:26:06	TT Bike
33	07:03:00	David	Hodsman	Dulwich Paragon CC	-	TT Bike
34	07:04:00	Douglas	Tulett	Thanet RC	-	TT Bike
35	07:05:00	Mark	Hill	VeloRefined Rule 5	00:27:18	TT Bike
36	07:06:00	James	Odendaal	Army Cycling	-	TT Bike